Competent authorities

Each Member State designates one or more competent authorities as responsible for supervising intermediary service providers and implementing the Digital Services Act (DSA), designating one of these authorities as Digital Services Coordinator (DSC)1.

The DSC is responsible for all matters relating to supervision and enforcement of the DSA, unless the Member State concerned has assigned certain specific tasks or sectors to other competent authorities. The DSC is also responsible for:

  • Ensuring coordination at national level in respect of these matters and for contributing to the effective and consistent supervision and enforcement of the DSA throughout the European Union.
  • Cooperating with the as Digital Services Coordinators of other Member States, with national competent authorities, the European Board for Digital Services and the European Commission.
  • Granting the status of trusted flagger and vetted researcher, as well as certifying out-of-court dispute settlement bodies at the request of interested parties.

In Portugal, the Government appointed ANACOM as DSC (in Portuguese). In this capacity, ANACOM sits on the European Board for Digital Services, which includes Digital Services Coordinators from all Member States, with ANACOM closely cooperates2.

ANACOM is also in permanent contact with the European Commission, which it supports in its missions, particularly with regard to VLOP and VLOSE supervision.

The European Commission has exclusive powers for the purpose of supervising application of the specific provisions to VLOP and VLOSE3. The Digital Services Coordinators and the competent national authorities of the Member State in which a VLOP or VLOSE has its principal establishment are competent to supervise the remaining provisions of the DSA4.

1 Article 49 of the DSA.
2 Article 62(1) of the DSA.
3 Chapter III Section 5 of the DSA.
4 In particular, Chapters II and III, sections 1 to 4 of the DSA.